What kind of camera?

Discussion in 'Whatever' started by jcrazy, Jan 8, 2009.

1. jcrazy

jcrazy Comment King

What kind of camera?
    Does everybody use for these great shots?

I've been thinking between a SLR - Nikon D60, or just a point and shoot PowerShot SX10 IS. The PowerShot SX10 IS has better zoom out of the box than the D60 without having to buy a 400 dollar zooming lense. Does anybody have the PowerShot SX10 IS? Hows the shutter speed while taking GID shots?

I'm curious to find out what everybody uses and the pros and cons for them.

2. CCPfan

CCPfan Comment King

What kind of camera?
    My background is in photography (among other things) and I have always leaned to film over digital. I could instantly tell the difference 90% of the time. Unless you went with the crazy-expensive 20MP+ cameras the pros use then I always found it easy to tell the earmark of digital cameras.

you should weigh out your usage of the camera. If you're not going to be doing serious camera work then I'd say stick with a point-and-shoot. There are a ton of good cameras that are around the $200 mark or less which are good for everyday photographs. I normally do much comparison when looking at the cameras. Start with your favorite brand then go from there! User ratings are also valuable, so places like Amazon and review sites (camera sites along with ZDNET / CNET) are worthwhile.

If you're around any form of major electronics chain or photo shop then go in and play around with the camera! Best way to see if you want it...then find it online for cheaper ;)